Injury Prevention — Where Do We Begin?

We often think of injury prevention as a concept that begins when our clients walk in the doors.  We know that no matter what level of fitness they arrive with, it is our responsibility to ensure safety by teaching them how to execute movements correctly.  We put a lot of focus on effective cuing, verbal and non-verbal (see last week’s post here), in order to prevent injury.   And while this is extremely important, our clients’ safety actually begins before they even arrive at class with something that is difficult for us to monitor: Did they bring shoes that are safe to work out in?

Investing in new shoes can’t wait.  Do your clients know that shoes should be replaced after 100 hours of exercise in order to prevent injury?  This article from SparkPeople, “Find Your Solemate: The Perfect Shoe for Every Workout” provides an awesome visual guide to finding a shoe suited to your favorite type of exercise.  I recommend sharing this article on social media, via e-mail, etc. for your clients.

This week, having been bombarded with holiday promotional e-mails, I was tempted on several occasions to purchase new workout pants — the vibrant, funky ones that would match my turquoise Ryka shoes perfectly.  But then, before placing them in my shopping cart, I asked myself when I would need to buy new shoes.   Using my better judgment, I refrained from purchasing the fun pants to save money for new Rykas this winter.  And this afternoon, I’ll remind my class of the importance of this investment.

 

Share your thoughts.

